top of page

Welcome!

I have a deep love of horror movies and was encouraged to create a place of my own where I could share my take on the films of our beloved genre with you and you with me. Now, I am not so deluded to think that we are always going to agree on my take of films, let's face it we all have our favorite film, actor, director and get very defensive when someone says something negative about them. However, that being said, I will never be outright cruel in my assessment of a film, actor, director, but I am going to be honest with you, regarding my opinion. That is a very critical part of this, my opinion.

Now for some things about the Diva. I hate spoilers. I will work VERY hard to not spoil a movie for you or drop the plot twist so that you can discover them for yourself. And comments that contain spoilers will end up disappearing. Part of the fun of some horror movies is not knowing how it is going to end. So please, respect each other and don't spoil the fun.

I do have a ratings system, and it is pretty straight forward, it is as follows:

Bikinis – out of 5, this is for Nudity. Now I know we might all be adults here and that is fine, but some of you might be reading this to decide if a movie “Little Billy/Suzie” wants to watch is ok. So, this category is to share the amount of nudity that is used in the movie as well as it will be mentioned in the score the kinds of nudity, sexual behavior that is exhibited.

Skulls – out of 5, this is for Body Count. Some people just want to see a film that has a high body count I have my days when that is what I want to see. Those days I watch more slasher films cause they are GREAT for body count. The higher the skulls the higher the bodies piling up.

Buckets – again out of 5, this is for Gore/Blood Factor. Films will be scored on the amount of blood and gore that is used overall in the movie. That is to say that a film that has one scene with a massive amount of blood is going to score lower than a film that has multiple scenes that are gory or have bloodshed. A film with 5 buckets is very gory/bloody whereas, a film with 1 bucket might have little to no blood at all.

Spiders – again our of 5, this is for Scare Factor. This encompasses all forms of scare, the jump scare, the outright scare, the menacing atmosphere. I think of all the ratings this is the one that we will debate and discuss the most. The more spiders crawling around, means the scarier it is. Mainly because what scares some people, does not bother others. Case in point, I know a few people that are less than thrilled that the scare points are spiders. (I personally love spiders, but there are people in my life that are less than fans.)

And the MOST important:

The Panda Rating: This is also out of 5, as a parent I understand that sometimes your kiddos want to watch a “scary movie” and you get nervous as to scares as well as content that is shown. So the Higher the number of pandas the more “Panda friendly” the film is. For example Corpse Bride would get a 4 panda rating (there is some scary scenes in that as far as little ones go) and something like Nightmare on Elm Street would only get a 1. But this rating is subjective. I know I have been watching scary, gory, fantastic horror movies since I was a very young child, so it didn't bother me. Whereas I know some children that get nightmares just from the previews of some horror movies. As a parent or caregiver of someone of the young child variety it is your choice what your little person sees,

Recommendations, I will also put at the end of each writing, other films that are similar in style, have the same actor or actress or director as a “If you liked this, you might like this” kind of thing. By putting those movies at the end, please bear in mind that I am not endorsing any of the films, I am simply going from a style, actor, director point of view.

Suggestions. I LOVE suggestions. Please, ask me about movies, if I have seen them I will add them to the list to talk about, if I have not seen them. I will watch them and then tell you what I think.

~ HorrorDiva

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page